Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Superchips!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08 March 2002, 01:46 PM
PING
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I have a standard MY00 and want it to go a little faster. Can't afford the PPP, so wondered about a Superchip ... On paper good torque and BHP gains lower down where I want it. I'm new at all this and not technically minded! Looking through the threads, no one has mentioned Superchips, is this because it's a bad idea and if so why? I'm not too keen on changing the exhaust as it will obviously become louder (what a woose!) ... family guy, etc... just want a bit more fun out of the car.

Any ideas/comments?
Old 08 March 2002, 01:55 PM
Dizzy
Scooby Regular

Superchips are very bad (apparantly.. dont have one so can't fairly comment). "Cheep" performance increases...
ITG filter.
Decat exhaust (I run SS BB and DP).
Dawes Device (see other threads).

I'm sure there are others but thats what I'm looking at atm.
Old 08 March 2002, 02:00 PM
PING
Scooby Regular

Question

Dizzy,

Cheers.

Dawes ...? I've read about the Dawes a little on other threads - any info on them and what you have to do with them/ cost?

ITG filter ... Air filter? Does this need any other mods to make it work?
Old 08 March 2002, 02:03 PM
Scaramanga
Scooby Regular

Thumbs down

PING,

I'd echo that sentiment, I was thinking about upgrades and looked at the superchips route. General consensus seems to be that it is a crude boost clamp which will do your engine no good in the long run, I believe that it bypasses the part of your engine which warns about overboost and cuts fuel to stop you blowing things up.

No horror stories came out, but I didn't feel comfortable with the comments I got. I've decided to go the decat route, possibly changing the ECU given enough cash......

Full decat should give about 240bhp plus ECU should take it to 270bhp
Old 08 March 2002, 02:03 PM
PING
Scooby Regular

Question

PS,