Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Could "knock" damage my engine?

Search this Thread

Old 17 December 2001, 09:48 PM
BuRR
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've been experiencing a wee bit of hesitation, and have decided to think about installing one of these do-it-yourself "knock smoothing kits" - courtesy of HobieGary in the USA. These kits have also been dissected on Ravensblade Impreza.

So, I'm a noob here, but how I understand it is that the preignition or "pinking" that the ECU "thinks" it hears is causing the hesitation. This kit nullifies this as far as I know.

SO, my big question is, will this knack my engine? Or should I just live with it and dream about all the upgrades that I can't afford?
Old 17 December 2001, 10:01 PM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Wink

Ok, welcome
First things first thou, what model and what year??
get that out of the way first
Some scoobs are more seceptable to knock than others (pre-98's and Jap imports) as they prefer higher octane fuel (100 ron for the jap imports and always nice to run a uk car on sul )
Also, are you suffering from lack of power, hesitation thru the gears when the car is cold/hot??
The easiest way to reduce your chances of knock(or detination) is to fit a knock sensor and a link ecu to your car.
Ok its not cheap but det will naff your engine up, think of it like this, where normally your fuel is compressed then explodes, det explodes before its compressed, this does a couple of things, reduces your power and causes damage to the heads of your pistons.
As long as your car isnt suffering then you dont need to worry (uk cars are normally ok, its bad fuel on jap cars you need to watch out for).
Hope that helps but im not an expert on this

Tony
Old 17 December 2001, 10:04 PM
BuRR
Scooby Regular

ok, thanks. My car is a MY99 5 door turbo. That idea's out of the window then
Old 17 December 2001, 10:07 PM
BuRR
Scooby Regular