Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Crunch 4th gear and knocking rear diff - i'm new to all this.

Search this Thread

Old 18 September 2006, 08:27 PM
RSWilson
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crunch 4th gear and knocking rear diff - i'm new to all this.

Hello to all,
I have recently bought a MY99 UK estate turbo and I'm really chuffed with it.
I am learning about the car and I have done loads of searches on these topics.
I would however like to relay my own story in my own words in the hope someone could give me some advice - Cheers.

When I rush the 5 speed box into 4th gear (up or down) it crunches slightly.
A friend of mine had a 2000 classic turbo and I recall teh box being very "acarde game like" but it didn't crunch.

If I take it steady there is no problem, its only if I race-change. Reading on here I understand a change of gearbox oil may well help OR if the box gets low on oil it might crunch 4th - any coments? Does the box have a dip stick? if so where is it?

Also the rear diff makes quite a knock when dropping to 4th to overtake briskly. Ive read on here that quite a lot of folks cars seem to have this and I'm tring to convince myself "they all do it" - any coments?

Thanks to everyone who takes the time to reply.

Regards
Richard
Old 19 September 2006, 11:54 AM
crusher
Scooby Regular

Hi Richard,
There is a dipstick for gearbox oil,it's found on the drivers side of the gearbox.If you look behind the intercooler it's pretty obvious as its sticking out of the gearbox...You should be cautious about overfilling as subaru recommend an oil level that is level with the lowest mark on the dipstick when the box is cold.
As to oil, many use Castrol Syntrax in these boxes, indeed I had a 1999 turbo with a slightly notchy change , refilled box with Syntrax and all was sweet.
Old 19 September 2006, 02:34 PM
Jay m A
Scooby Regular