Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Exhaust question

Search this Thread

Old 06 September 2004, 04:11 PM
Richard74
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Exhaust question

Please excuse me as I'm very new to all this.

I have just bought my first Impreza, a UK Turbo 2000, which I REALLY pleased with. I'm interested in upgrading the exhaust and probably the air filter too.
I would like to know what exhaust gives the best increase in power but doesn't have a 4" or 5" tailpipe? Though the deep burble would be nice.

Also, is there a preferred filter / exhaust combination?

I'm also a bit confused by the removal of the centre pipe. If I get this removed to increase flow, will I have to get anything else changed as a result?

And finally (thank God I hear you sigh), is it worth buying a dump valve and what one?

Again, please excuse the stupid questions and thanks in advance.
Old 06 September 2004, 04:21 PM
TEXAS PETE
Scooby Regular

I’d recommend a scooysport exhaust…it has a nice 3.5” tail pipe and sounds superb. You’ll find one in the Scooby shop and occasionally in the for sail section. As for the air filter I’d recommend an ITG panel filter which performs well with the exhaust and still uses the original air box. And there you have it a better breathing Scoob…

You’ll probably get a better response in the drivetrain section…

Pete
Old 06 September 2004, 05:08 PM
RLE
Scooby Regular

Richard,

I have one of the Scoobysport exhausts for sale that Texas Pete refers to.

Brand new and never fitted. If you want any other information please feel free to mail me and I'll try and sort you out with a nice price.

I originally started with the Janspeed S1 before moving to the Firestorm exhaust-this looked great but was way too loud especially as I had a full decat. The Scoobysport was fantastic-very linear power delivery etc-if you do a search you'll see some reviews like this one.
Old 06 September 2004, 05:32 PM
Haxzer
Scooby Regular