Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

fiited K&n Great..What next??

Search this Thread

Old 23 June 2001, 10:33 AM
madhatter
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I fitted my K&N 57I kit yesterday took 2 hours.Sounds great,better response etc.
But the big question is what next I have a standard WRX 95 model,Only K&N fitted,I am not after a big bore tail pipe just better performance and a nice grunty sound...,Perhaps replace downpipe with decatted I am a complete novice so have no idea as to the benefits this would give..?
Old 23 June 2001, 11:28 AM
Houlbt
Scooby Regular

Sort your exhaust is a must.....you don't need to go Super Dragger loud to benefit from a performance gain.I think you should upgrade your centre section and rear section before you go changing the downpipe

Lots of people here rate the Scoobysport box, I don't think that is too loud. Don't think the Magnex is obtrusive either. I've got a custom Janspeed jobby.....not obtrusive at all but makes this gorgeous burble at low revs, and not silly loud at high revs.

It all depends what you really want from the car. If performance is your first priority, in my opinion the best value for money modification is a trip to Powerstation in Cheltenham for the Bumpsteer mod and some fast road/track geometry settings.... It is amazing what a difference to the drivability of you car that makes.

Ahhhh ...thinking about it, if you have a 95wrx you'll have the two-pot brakes????(correct me if I'm wrong) If that's the case, I think upgrading to 4-pots is a must. You can alays pick them up pretty cheap on this bbs.

Old 25 June 2001, 12:54 AM
Ken E
Scooby Regular

I have a MY95 WRX and found a big improvement when I fitted a full decat exhaust. It is a Super Drager and isn't that loud. I am told that I would get another big improvement by fitting a twin dump downpipe, which may be next on my list.