Droning Noise From Rear Of Car

Search this Thread

Old 02 June 2001, 03:54 PM
ScoobyDan
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi Guys (and Galls),

I have owned my UK '97 Impreza Sport for the last 4 months, and in the last week or so I have noticed a 'droning' noise coming from the rear of the car. The noise changes note as the speed of the car increases or decreases, so I assume it is to do with the rear diff or axle. The noise also appears to get louder when there is more than one person in the car.

Anyone got any bright ideas what it could be? I'm not a mechanically-minded person, so I would have to pass it over to a garage if any rummaging within the internals is required!

The car is due for a service at the end of July. Do you think I should wait until then, and allow the garage to look at it?

Thanks in advance for your help

Daniel
Old 02 June 2001, 06:14 PM
stratman
Scooby Regular

Dan,

Thats a coincidence... I was about to post the same question. I also have a droning from the rear that started about a month ago and seems to be getting worse.

I am hoping that its only a wheel bearing and not the diff.

Does anyone know if there is a test that will determine if it is the wheel bearing and which side?

Also has anyone replaced a wheel bearing themselves and are any special tools needed?

Sorry to hijack your thread Dan

Cheers
Denis
Old 02 June 2001, 08:24 PM
scoobyboy
Scooby Regular

almost certainly a rear wheel bearing done absolutly loads of them it seems that the driveshaft corrodes where a seal sits so it lets in all the muck from the road.easy to do but you will need a press no special tools needed except for a good pair of circlip pliers. subaru did come up for a cure to the corodded driveshaft which to save buying a new one you fit a speedy sleeve over the corroded part and it gives the seal a new surface to sit on and it works never had to do one a second time when it has had a sleeve.
Old 02 June 2001, 11:24 PM
ScoobyDan