Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Why does turbo boost 'Peak' then level off?

Search this Thread

Old 18 May 2001, 12:10 AM
dowser
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm no expert (there was excellent info from Moray, Pat and Quattro in a thread I started a year or so ago about the noises you hear with better induction), but;

Boost control is provided by a feedback loop; plant your right foot, boost goes up, the pressure sensor causes the solenoid to close...opening the wastegate...reducing the pressure....pressure sensor (well, ecu) tells solenoid to open, bleeding pressure away from wastegate..raising boost, etc.

The solenoid actually opens/closes at a very high frequency - I guess the duty is varied by the ecu to control boost.

The peak duration time is the time taken for the feedback loop to respond to your go pedal input.

The peak duration (hopefully ) increases every time you modify the induction or exhaust systems - the biggest change for me was the decat downpipe; nearly doubled peak duration in the cold. Why? Because the turbo can spin up quicker, but boost control system still reacts at same speed.

Of course, I've been wrong before

Richard
Old 18 May 2001, 12:57 AM
Adam M
Scooby Regular

common computer control of things such as this relies on a PID controller. This refers to proprtional integral and derivative contyrol of the boost.

Basically the ecu asks for a level of boost and the wastegate opens. The actual level produced then misses to target and creates an error. The PID controller uses the error and calculates how it needs to modify the wastegate control to make the error zero.

A perfectly produced pid control will over shoot its target slightly then undershopot it by an even smaller amount, then rest perfectly on the desired level.

I am not sure if the system here would react fast enough to use pid control, but if it does, it would certainly exhibit these characteristics.
Old 18 May 2001, 11:45 AM
Rikki23