Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Induction kits on pre97

Search this Thread

Old 25 April 2001, 10:45 AM
RICH WILD
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I've presently got a MY96 with a k+n panel filter.

Am I better off with the k+n 57i induction kit or similar? Is there any appreciable difference in power to warrant the £70 price difference?(£40-£110) Is it worth going that bit extra for a HKS system(£185)?

I've heard horror stories about replacing that little sensor thingy in the standard airbox when you fit an induction kit and how it causes weak running.

Any comments on any induction kits would be welcome.

Cheers

Richard
Old 25 April 2001, 04:12 PM
bennetm
Scooby Regular

I want to know as well. Come on you buggers!

Old 25 April 2001, 06:06 PM
GavinP
Scooby Regular

The early cars had a different type of Air Flow Meter which is much less fragile.

I have been running a Pipercross induction kit on my 94 WRX for 18 months with no problems whatsoever.

The only time people run into problems with early cars is when they clean the filter and go mad spraying the special oil on it.

As the element in the early AFM is fairly robust, you can clean it anyhow with a cotton bud and some luke-warm water....

A sensible precaution when you fit the kit anyhow.

Personally, I would avoid the Blitz filter as several people have said it doesn't filter down to the same level as foam/cotton but I don't have any direct experience of this so I would recommend that you do a search.

Also be aware that induction kits on early models are quite noisy as the original blow-off valve is fairly small - think "Darth Vader after running the London Marathon" .

Thanks

Gavin
Old 25 April 2001, 06:22 PM
Mellow Yellow !
Scooby Regular