Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Yet another exhuast question

Search this Thread

Old 29 December 2002, 10:30 PM
greg.g
Scooby Regular

Location: Faster than a quickshift.... get yourself a bionic arm ;)
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Yes i know it has all been said before,but could you bear with me as i am new to scoobys.
I intend on changing my exhaust in the new year. I have a bog standard MY98 turbo wagon. I have read that the exhaust can sound louder inside the wagon than the saloon. I dont want to be deafened at low revs ! From what little i have seen and read, i have narrowed it down to two exhausts - the magnex and scoobysport.
At the moment my car is still under warranty. As far as each system is concerned, would i gain much from fitting just the back box or the mid section as well?
Can the exhausts just be bolted on or is their anything else required? And finally, do you reckon its worth checking out the motorsport show at the NEC in jan for special deals?
Thanks for your help.
Greg.
Old 30 December 2002, 01:05 PM
scoobyslut
Scooby Regular

would be careful "as you say", the wagons tend to be a bit more noiser inside and you may find that by fitting a centre section as well as a back box, you will have to keep opening a window to cut down the resonance. Might be worth simply fitting a rear box first, then, if you want to, try a centre section. NEC show may well be worth a view first,as all available systems will be there to look at first, rather than buy and regret.
Old 30 December 2002, 04:41 PM
greg.g
Scooby Regular

Talking

Thanks for your advice scoobyslut.

ANY MORE VIEWS ?

Greg.
Old 30 December 2002, 05:09 PM
T558
Scooby Regular

Smile

Its worth looking at the After Burner Stealth on ScoobyWorld.co.uk as it is only slightly louder than the standard one.
That way you can free up power without making your ears bleed!
Another idea is to get some of that sound proofing stuff, might quiteten things down a bit.