Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

LSD

Search this Thread

Old 13 November 2002, 12:20 AM
ScoobyWhite
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I do not know many things about this but someone tell me that it a is very good upgrade to make in a MY00.

I would like to know tree things:

In front or rear (or two)?? I am thinking only in front. What do you think?

I want a two ways kind. So what is the best (price/performance)?

And where can I buy it and what is the price (more or less)?

Thanks.
Old 13 November 2002, 07:11 AM
JIM THEO
Scooby Regular

Dowser can help you as he has one in his car.
Take a look at Quaife site, is torsen type and quite reliable fitted from factory in the new Turbo Focus.
JIM
Old 13 November 2002, 09:33 AM
dowser
Scooby Senior

About 500 pounds for a front ATB direct from Quaife. They also do a rear, but I have no experience of it.

If I could do it again, I'd also fit a stronger centre differential while the gearbox was out.

Be very careful when driving the car the first time after fitting - it changes the character considerably.

Works very well for me, but I guess it depends what other mods you've got.

Richard
Old 13 November 2002, 09:59 AM
EMS
Scooby Regular

Richard,

You don´t need to take the gearbox out to change the centre diff!

You only have to remove the prop shaft to the rear diff and remove the last part of the housing. It´s an easy job!

Mark.
Old 13 November 2002, 12:23 PM
dowser
Scooby Senior

You just made my day, thanks Mark

Richard
Old 13 November 2002, 12:23 PM
hrubago
Scooby Regular

Which differencies between ATB Quaife (simply torsen) and Viscous coupling LSD from Sti, when you drive it?
And dowser:
1)have you first experiences (if the car turns better, if you can do sideways easilly etc.) I would like to buy one but havent final decision which one.
2) why the uprated central diff?