Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Intel 5300 AGN wireless drops connection when remote desktop server

Search this Thread

Old 24 March 2012, 08:38 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Intel 5300 AGN wireless drops connection when remote desktop server

As title. Have played with the power settings to no avail.

When it is wired, it connects, but when wireless the wireless card appears to take the initation of RDP as a trigger to disconnect!

Previous wireless g card didn't do this.
Old 25 March 2012, 09:06 AM
dunx
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm no expert, but remote desktop has some major issues with graphics drivers, so it could be related to that, not the cause obviously...

HTH

dunx
Old 04 April 2012, 03:48 PM
Littleted
Scooby Regular

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

There is an option in the tools menu of the Intel wireless Proset network tools to let Windows manage your network connections. Select that option and Remote Desktop should work.

try that and also disable fast switching
Old 05 April 2012, 01:54 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

I've done both Windows and Intel management, both are flaky. I think the card might be a fake from reading. The latest driver is worse than the one Windows 7 installs automatically. It doesn't wake up after sleep if you have the roaming aggressiveness set higher than 3, but it won't roam or roams to the wrong access port otherwise. A bit of a PITA, might revert to the supplied g card, unless there is another recommended 802.11n mini PCIe half height card.
Old 05 April 2012, 09:44 PM
JohnSmith
Scooby Regular

disable power management on the driver (advanced options on the NIC)

Disable any power save settings on the driver

try removing IPv6 (just untick it) in the network settings