Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Stupid pooter, you've just told me to...

Search this Thread

Old 12 March 2009, 05:41 PM
InvisibleMan
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stupid pooter, you've just told me to...

Installed SQL Server
decided that I want some extra features
go into setup and select said extra features
Installs
Install fails...
"to resolve this error remove x part of sql"
uninstalls x part of sql
re-runs sql setup
setup can't continue as it needs x part of sql
it re-installs x part of sql
setup runs
select extra features
Installs
Install fails........
Old 12 March 2009, 08:07 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I am a SQL/Oracle DBA but what are you jabbering about !
Old 12 March 2009, 09:03 PM
Markus
Scooby Regular

He's just jabbering, he's known for it D Just kidding.

You could drop back to the previous release version, uninstall sql server, then install the prior version, see if that works. If it does, you could try an upgrade and see if the new version installs the extras.
Old 13 March 2009, 11:11 AM
InvisibleMan
Scooby Regular

not sure how simpler i can put it. I have a sql cd, i install sql but not all the features ie dont go into custom install and tick all the boxes. SQL installs. I go back into the install wizard on the same cd and tick some more boxes so more features are installed. It cant because sql is there already so what you have to fully uninstall everything and do a full install??? kinda have to make sure you do this then if its a production server.
Anyways i get the same replies from other IT people. What is it with IT people and websites unable to explain in english...im thinking im not longer cut out for it...

Yeah Markus i do jabber
Old 13 March 2009, 07:27 PM
boomer
Scooby Senior

Did-ya reboot between just about every change that you made?