Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

64 bit Windows?

Search this Thread

Old 15 February 2009, 12:21 AM
Adrian F
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 64 bit Windows?

Will buying a PC running 64 Bit Vista give me any extra problems from buying a PC running 32 Bit Vista, it has 6 Gig of ram and the new Intel Processor.
Old 15 February 2009, 12:38 AM
bob269
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm no expert but i'm pretty sure 32bit windows won't recognise ram over 4gig, so stick with 64bit.
Old 15 February 2009, 12:41 AM
Kieran_Burns
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

64 bit drivers are pretty stable now, so while there may be some more problems you should not have major issues.
Old 15 February 2009, 12:46 AM
Adrian F
Scooby Regular

what about the software i have already which runs on vista lap top etc will that run ok with 64 bit especialy as it links to things like GPS units and camera's etc.
Old 15 February 2009, 12:59 AM
bob269
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm not running a laptop, but i'm on a desktop 64bit vista and have had no issues since sp1 was released. I mainly use photoshop and all is fine.
Old 15 February 2009, 11:22 AM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Received 301 Likes on 240 Posts

No point having 6gig of ram with 32bit windows.

So either have 4gig and 32bit

or

6gig and 64bit.

With what will and won't work, depends on how old the software your trying to use is:

Generally speaking, there are very few thing that don't work. Namely old versions of Nero (tells you to purchase the upgrade as the "solution" ). Yet I have photoshop v7.0 which is very old and that works perfectly.