Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

going rate to design a website?

Search this Thread

Old 01 April 2008, 11:51 AM
jaytc2003
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default going rate to design a website?

Just wondering what the going rate is for having a website designed.
I know it will vary depending on content but what would the costs be for a basic text/images site, and one with basic flash?

Cheers
James
Old 01 April 2008, 12:18 PM
dynamix
Former Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Avoid flash if you can - there are better ways to do things now using Ajax that provide interactivity but are still Search Engine readable.

I am a full time web developer/designer so could help you out if you want to pm me to chat through what you need.
Old 01 April 2008, 01:03 PM
jaytc2003
Scooby Regular

cheers dynamix, may just take you up on that. What it is I have been doing basic stuff a while back with the intention of learning it well enough to maybe get some extra money coming in. Now someone has asked me if I can do one for them, so what I intend to do is basically design one for them and get feedback from them.

I take it that Ajax is a scripting language along the lines of javascript?
Old 01 April 2008, 04:41 PM
spectrum48k
Scooby Regular

try and estimate the number of web pages you require:

eg.

home page
products page
contact us page
services we offer page

etc...
Old 01 April 2008, 04:55 PM
StickyMicky
Scooby Regular

i have no idea about this, but some random offered to redo mine for 150quid.

this bloke pitched me a PM on another forum by telling me he was redoing my mates import car website, and i could look at the preview if i wanted.

to be honest i preferred my mates original website and the "new" one looked pretty plain and boring to me, so i turned him down
Old 01 April 2008, 05:21 PM
spectrum48k