Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Video editing on PC

Search this Thread

Old 20 September 2007, 10:31 PM
Brendan Hughes
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Video editing on PC

Just bought a camcorder which records onto sony memory stick, AVCHD. I have never done video editing before. My wife would like to be able to make little documentaries (she's ex-TV journalist but only worked with magnetic tape). So, frame by frame editing, possible adding of sound and/or subtitles, adding clips together, a few things like that. I don’t think we need psychedelic special effects at the moment. Some stuff should also be burned to DVD to send to relatives.

Have a new home PC, 3.0GHz, 1GB RAM, and something reasonable like a 200GB HDD. I installed the Sony Picture Motion Browser s/w which looks nice but seems to be capable of nothing more than taking the ends off the clips (in point /out point). It also seems to need a lot of thinking when editing, pausing for 10 secs while editing, suggesting not nearly enough RAM. I have various little background progs like ZA, Skype, Avast AV etc but nothing huge.

1. Do I need more RAM, or should it be enough and I should look for other problems?

2. What’s a decent (easy to learn, quite capable) free video editing package? I can find plenty with Google, but rather than installing six and taking a few months to decide which five to uninstall, your experience would be appreciated . Examples given are MS Movie Maker, wax, zwei-stein, AVID free (no longer available?). Something with good tutorials or a user group would be nice too. (Movie Maker for Dummies is a distinct possibility, I like the Dummies books )

Many thanks

Brendan

BTW really sorry if this is a FAQ, I don’t venture much in here
Old 22 September 2007, 08:15 AM
boxst
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts