Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Mac drive formatting

Search this Thread

Old 11 July 2007, 11:23 PM
joey_turbo
Scooby Regular

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Mac drive formatting

Right. I've got a Powerbook G4, I bought it damaged. It just hangs when its says starting Mac OS. Don't know what version, as it won't start.
I'm very new to Mac's, so I'm having a play around with Mac's version of DOS (don't know what its called). Done an fsck -f. My impression is that, that checks the hdd to see if its OK. Its come back OK.

Now the questions:
1. How can I view the files already on the disk, in this sigle user mode?
2. How can I reformat it in this mode? I don't now how to view the drive, its not like DOS where c: is the hdd.
3. What can I do to get it running? I have a legit copy of OS X 10.2 start up disks, but I can't boot from them
Old 12 July 2007, 12:51 AM
Markus
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yes you can view files, the unix equivelent of dir is ls. Paths are separated with /, the root of the drive instead of being C: is /

So to list directories on the root of the drive you'd issue the following command:

ls -la /

This will display all files and folders

you can use cd, as you would in DOS to enter the directories and use the ls command again to view the contents.

As for formatting via the command line, I think the diskutil command might do it, you'd want to enter "man diskutil" to bring up the manual page for it to find out the correct command to use.

As for getting it up and running, well, if you format the drive and you don't have boot disks then you're a bit stuffed.