Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Tell me all I need to know for using WiFi Hotspots please!

Search this Thread

Old 10 June 2005, 11:33 AM
Scoobychick
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Tell me all I need to know for using WiFi Hotspots please!

I'm new to this so what do I need to know in order to use WiFi Hotspots when I'm out and about on my travels? I've got a Wireless laptop which I'm using on a wireless network at home but I'm yet to venture outdoors with it

Cheers

Sal
Old 10 June 2005, 12:21 PM
mike1210
Scooby Regular

bottom right of the screen move mouse over the wireless network icon. Should be an option to view all networks, those in range should pop up
should be able to connect unless encrypted or mac filtered

and no using your neighbours connection either

Last edited by mike1210; 10 June 2005 at 12:26 PM.
Old 10 June 2005, 01:28 PM
ChrisB

As Mike says, you might find an unsecured connection you can borrow (in a big city you'll probably find no end of wireless networks).

Alternatively, there are a number of official systems like BT Openzone. You have to pay for access through this sort of thing.

ZD have a handy map showing the various networks and where they have hotspots.
Old 10 June 2005, 03:27 PM
class_A
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by scoobychick
I'm new to this so what do I need to know in order to use WiFi Hotspots when I'm out and about on my travels? I've got a Wireless laptop which I'm using on a wireless network at home but I'm yet to venture outdoors with it