Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Please recommend the best 19" LCD

Search this Thread

Old 04 April 2005, 10:50 AM
Nick
Scooby Senior

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Please recommend the best 19" LCD

Hi

I've been using a 17" Iiyama VM Pro 410 CRT for the past few years & have been very pleased with it. However I'm thinking of getting an LCD monitor for health reasons (eyes getting worn out). I'm an IT pro & spend a lot of time in front the screen. I use the pc for general office work, playing games (eg Age of Empires/Stronghold/CM Rally), also a bit of photo editing (Fireworks, Paint Shop Pro) & also Dreamweaver.

Space is not an issue, budget is around £600. I don't need speakers or a USB hub. I'd like a 19" LCD. I have a DVI output & use Win XP.

I install several brands of LCD for my corporate customers including Iiyama, Viewsonic, Fujitsu Siemens & Sony. I don't really like Iiyama (my wife has an Iiyama LCD) or Viewsonic. Sony is ok & Fujitsu Siemens are pretty good. I could just put up with the Fujitsu Siemens professional LCD range, but would like something better.

I've been considering the Fujitsu P19 (13ms 1000 contrast 280 brightness) & the Sony SDM-HS95P (12ms 1000 450). I read some stuff on the Sony XBlack range last night that it was too reflective & not very even brightness. I also don't really like the new Sony stand design. The Fujitsu Siemens P19 would probably be ok for me, but I've also been reading about the Eizo L778 (12ms 1000 250) which looks pretty good to me. I've also read some stuff about 19" screens have a 5:4 ratio instead of 4:3 which can make things look squashed. Does anyone have any info about this?

Links:
http://www.fujitsu-siemens.co.uk/pro...cview_p19.html
http://www.sony.co.uk/ShowProduct.do...duct=SDM-HS95P
http://www.eizo.com/products/lcd/l778/index.asp