Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Development tools

Search this Thread

Old 08 December 2003, 04:51 PM
12LEE
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A long time ago, I did a Computer Science degree. C (couldn't understand it), Modula2 (could understand it).

I now need to write a few small utilities, mainly file manipulation, ODBC queries, etc.

What development tools should I be looking at? Apps will run under XP.

Cheers

Lee.
Old 08 December 2003, 05:02 PM
Iain Young
Scooby Regular

Cool

Depends on speed etc.

If you want free, cross platform type stuff, then Java would be a good bet. You can download the jdk for free, and if you want a ready good open source ide then Eclipse comes recommended. It's a lot easier to get into than C/C++, and you jave access to jdbc drivers etc for sql support as well...

Otherwise I guess you'd have to go either the Borland route (something like Delphi) or Microsft with Visual C. These will probably run quicker than Java, but they're not as nice if you're just getting started....

Old 08 December 2003, 05:15 PM
boxst
Scooby Regular

Hello

I would also recommend the Java route. Eclipse is pretty good, as is Borland's JBuilder.

Steve.
Old 08 December 2003, 05:16 PM
stevencotton
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Don't forget Perl for cross-platform development. It's ideal for what you want and you can get Activestate Perl for nothing.

Steve.
Old 08 December 2003, 05:21 PM
Iain Young
Scooby Regular

Depends on what you want to use it for really. If you are creating programs to run from a webserver, then perl may be a better route to go as it ties in nicely the web server. On the other hand, it's not as powerful / feature rich as Java out of the box, and not quite as "friendly" to program in, but it may well do everything that you want it to....