Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Perl, ksh, DB2 + unix

Search this Thread

Old 25 February 2003, 01:09 AM
Dracoro
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anyone know the principles/basics of these technologies, how to use them, what they are based on etc.?

Or any websites that gives you the lowdown etc.

I'm a computer science grad (have been doing CRM for 3 years and changing soon hopefully) and have done some Unix and C + unix scripting etc. Got interview for a job which is SQL, Unix, VBA etc. which I am fine with but some of the 'nice' to have are Perl, ksh, DB2 etc. so would love to go into the interview with better idea of the technologies etc. Uni textbooks are lost somewhere so I can't 'revise' with them unfortunately.
Old 25 February 2003, 09:33 AM
stevencotton
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Perl is a scripting language, ksh is a shell and DB2 is a database. Google should tell you a lot?

Steve.
Old 25 February 2003, 01:02 PM
Dracoro
Scooby Regular

Are they similar to C? I know unix was written in C so is ksh very smiliar? Perl?

thanks
Old 25 February 2003, 01:42 PM
DrEvil
Scooby Regular

Arrow

Csh is similar (loosely) to the C language.

Ksh is Korn Shell, which a hybrid of Bourne Shell (sh).

Your best bet is to search for Unix man pages online - this will give you a run down of them. As Steve said, use Google.com

Perl - this is a mix of a lot things try http://www.perl.org/.

DB2 is IBM propriotory junk dbase, IMHO. Has been sneaked into a lot of companies through the back door as it 'sits' under some versions of WebSphere... so you had to install it to use WebSphere, so then you had to find out what is was and how to look after it when it went wrong, then some companies thought they could use it for other stuff.. blah blah blah.. rant..etc.....