Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

330 BHP WRX Classic - Brake upgrade, STI or Brembo?

Search this Thread

Old 14 September 2011, 11:42 PM
wotagr8bigchief
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 330 BHP WRX Classic - Brake upgrade, STI or Brembo?

Hello guys I will be getting my 93 WRX mapped early part of next month and will be looking at the 330 ish mark with the mods I'm currently undertaking. Thing is I've only got the standard 2-pots which are definetly not going to be up to the job
I'm thinking Classic STi 4-pots with Godspeed discs and pads on the front, leave the rears as standard. Will this be up to the job or will I need to look at spending on Brembos or similar?
I have found a 2001 bugeye WRX rusting in a nearby front garden, will this have 4-pots that I can use? I'm thinking of offering to buy it as I will be needing a stronger gearbox aswell and i break cars for a living so could always find use for the leftovers

As always your help and opinions is much appreciated.
Old 15 September 2011, 08:11 AM
wrathchild_78
Scooby Regular

I found the need for some extra braking power only after 360bhp+
I believe that you will be ok with the Classic STi 4-pots with Godspeed discs and pads on the front BUT overall it is a better solution to go for the new age STI brembos if you can afford it but have in mind that you have to change the brake master cylinder since you have an early classic impreza if you go that way
Old 15 September 2011, 07:43 PM
wotagr8bigchief
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by wrathchild_78
I found the need for some extra braking power only after 360bhp+
I believe that you will be ok with the Classic STi 4-pots with Godspeed discs and pads on the front BUT overall it is a better solution to go for the new age STI brembos if you can afford it but have in mind that you have to change the brake master cylinder since you have an early classic impreza if you go that way