Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

first signs of brake pad wear?

Search this Thread

Old 23 December 2006, 02:28 PM
apac
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default first signs of brake pad wear?

what are the first usual signs of this? i've been getting a kind of rough lumpy/crunchy feel on my foot when the pedal is pushed down hard near the floor. what is this likely to be. pads discs and fluid was changed on car about 18mths ago, car done 8k miles in this time on normal road use only. car is MY99 uk, 4 pot standard pads n disc brakes.
i'm no expert as you can probably tell, so good advice will be warmly welcomed.
tar.

Last edited by apac; 23 December 2006 at 02:33 PM.
Old 23 December 2006, 05:19 PM
alex_00s
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by apac
what are the first usual signs of this? i've been getting a kind of rough lumpy/crunchy feel on my foot when the pedal is pushed down hard near the floor. what is this likely to be. pads discs and fluid was changed on car about 18mths ago, car done 8k miles in this time on normal road use only. car is MY99 uk, 4 pot standard pads n disc brakes.
i'm no expert as you can probably tell, so good advice will be warmly welcomed.
tar.

pads usually have those metal prongs on them so that when they get really low the metal prongs squeek against the disc letting you know they need changing soon

as for the lumpy/crunchy feel
Old 23 December 2006, 07:48 PM
apac
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

yeah it's weird, it's hard to explain, it feels gravelly?!?!? crunchy as if there is no more pad left and the pedal goes to the floor???
Old 24 December 2006, 07:58 PM
Marin
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a MY99 with 4 pots and once the pads get down below about 4mm they get progressively more 'rumbly' when stopping hard from high speeds...
Old 29 December 2006, 10:21 PM
jasonius
Scooby Regular

Question

Originally Posted by Marin