Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

GROUP BUY - AP Style ally big brake kits v.cheap!!

Search this Thread

Old 11 January 2001, 08:08 PM
Martin J Stirling
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink

Hi Guys,

thanks for the comments. I will find out what you need to know tomorrow. By the way, the prices include VAT too.

I am no brake expert by the way, just know that for the money you aint gonna find better..

MS

[Edited by Martin J Stirling - 11/1/2001 11:28:59 PM]
Old 11 May 2001, 06:32 PM
AndyMc
Scooby Regular

Hi Martin

I think there would be a lot more interest if they had been used by few typical Scooby drivers (ie hard) for say 10K miles with a couple of trackdays thrown in.If they managed to stand up to this without any problems (such as warping/cracking/pad knock off etc) as the AP and Brembo stuff does, then they would be an excellent buy .Has anybody used them in this way I wonder?

Also a larger piston size when used with a larger disc can change the pressure/torque relationship of the front brakes by quite a bit.This has a couple of effects

The pedal will be lower and more spongy(the Scoob isn't exactly known for its firm pedal)

The brake bias will move more to the front

The ABS could even be affected
I wonder if Hi-Spec could tell us if any Impreza specific developement work been done to make sure none of this is an issue ?

Andy

PS see the technical section under 'big brakes and ABS' on www.stoptech.com for a good explanation of pressure/torque relationships and ABS.There is also a lot of good info in the FAQ

PPS I'm not sure how this post reads but it is meant to be helpfull

[Edited by AndyMc - 11/5/2001 6:48:31 PM]
Old 01 November 2001, 06:38 PM
Martin J Stirling
Scooby Regular

Cool

Deal of the century if you ask me