Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

Changing brake hoses and fluid - as simple as it seems???

Search this Thread

Old 03 March 2005, 10:42 PM
cefski
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Changing brake hoses and fluid - as simple as it seems???

Hi Chaps.

dumbass mechophobe question, but I've never done this before.

I've got some mintex pads, a full set of goodridge hoses and some ap racing 551 (DOT3) fluid ready to go on/in the car (a uk 00MY imp turbo). I've changed the pads before, and know this to be a doddle, but is changing the hoses and fluid as straightforward as it seems???

I've come up with the following (trademarked and copyrighted ) plan, so someone please tell me if there are any potential cockups here...

Subaru recommend starting with the front right corner, then rear left, front left and finishing with the rear right.

So, starting with the front right...

1 - jack up car, remove wheel. remove the pad retaining bits from the caliper
2 - attach hose to bleed valve, then open bleed valve to ease the removal of the old pads and to push the pots back into the caliper body.
3 - close bleed valve and remove old pads.
4 - undo hose at caliper end and drain fluid.
5 - undo hose at body end.
6 - attach new hose
7 - insert new pads into calipers and replace retaining bits.
8 - pump and bleed the fluid until the new fluid comes through, constantly topping up the fluid in the reservoir.
9 - close bleed valve, check pedal feel and check for leaks.

... and as above for the remaining three corners.

What do you reckon? This should work, shouldn't it??

Cheers

Kev.
Old 03 March 2005, 11:19 PM
RON
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Exclamation

Kev, I've done this a few times, and you've clearly thought about it, however, my plan would be.....
1. jack up and remove wheel.....