Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

What causes tyres to wear more on the inside edge?

Search this Thread

Old 18 April 2004, 07:44 PM
dean harris
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What causes tyres to wear more on the inside edge?

As title suggests,I have noticed my tyres are beginning to wear on the inside edges on the front of the car.I had it tested with laser alignment a while ago and that was o.k(when tyres were fitted 9,000mls ago)but is this caused by incorrect toe-in settings etc.
Being a total novice on this sort of thing could someone please suggest what the best fix is.
Cheers
Dean
Old 18 April 2004, 08:15 PM
Eddoe
Scooby Regular

Thumbs down

If your car is a classic then it does the same thing on my MY99, i was told when i asked that this is normal due to the setup of the suspension etc.
Is a bit of a pain though as the rest of the tyres still have tread left but still need to be replaced!!
Old 18 April 2004, 08:44 PM
dean harris
Scooby Regular

Hi Eddoe,
My car is an '02.I had heard it was a characteristic of a Subaru for the tyre wear but having had a '94 wrx for 3.5 years I find that fact difficult to except, and if there is something that can fix it for a bit of money,then I'm up for it,because as you have pointed out it gets a bit wearing when 3/4 of the tyres have aprox 5mm left.
Cheers
Dean
Old 18 April 2004, 10:20 PM
RON
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Dean,
Do a trackday mate, that'll knock the oputside edges for ya!!

How's tricks??

How's about 'up your way' in June??
Old 18 April 2004, 11:24 PM
Miniman
Scooby Regular

Bumpsteer causes uneven wear on the inside edges. It was very obvious on older classics and there is even a mod available for the steering rack to remove the bumpsteer.