Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

Brake bleeding- beginner !!

Search this Thread

Old 23 February 2001, 08:01 AM
Dog basket
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I own an Sti V and am going to upgrade the brakes. I am not taking the car on the track so after much deliberation I have decided to just replace discs pads and brake lines along with the fluid. After reading threads on the BB I believe I can do this myself. Could someone just tell me how easy it is to change the hoses to braided ones and also give me a step by step guide to removing the old brake fluid and replacing it / bleeding the system. Basic I know but its my first time - be gentle with me !!!!
Also is it fair to say that only the front discs and pads need to be replaced ???
At the same time I am going to re-paint the calipers -im assuming that these will detach themselves easily from the system when i have the discs off ??

Your comments would beappreciated....
Old 23 February 2001, 08:17 AM
AndrewC
Scooby Regular

Sorry DogBasket I can't answer your question.

I too am about to undertake the same task, I think it would be really useful if there was a maintenance FAQ either on here or on the SIDC website with stuff like this. I'm sure this question along with "how do I change my downpipe" and "how do I remove the airbox resonator" are asked and answered many times, each time a little more experience is added but the post becomes lost (without a search facility).

There are some good websites out there - Chiarks gauge installation guide for example - but a centralised repository for these would be a good idea.

AndrewC...

(Edited to correct spelling)

[This message has been edited by AndrewC (edited 23 February 2001).]
Old 23 February 2001, 08:25 AM
Dog basket
Scooby Newbie

Good idea - perhaps some technical minded people could have a go !!!

What combo of pads discs you going for and what car do you own ??
Old 23 February 2001, 09:01 AM
ndouglass
Scooby Regular

Dog Basket,