Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

groaning grooves

Search this Thread

Old 22 August 2000, 09:06 PM
DaveD
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I've recently fitted new EBC discs & greenstuff pads, and have now done enough miles to start leaning on the middle pedal a bit more.

However, I have noticed that under harder braking the new set-up makes a very loud droning noise. Is this normal for slotted discs?

I assume that the noise is probably from the sharp edge of the grooves not yet being rounded off (fully bedded in), but would like some reassurance (I've no previous experience with grooved discs).

Dave
Old 22 August 2000, 09:28 PM
barge
Scooby Regular

Hi

The noise is normal.

Some people dont like it, others just ignor it, as a first timer on this type of disk you will not be able to ignor it for some time, still your brakes will be better.

Barge
Old 24 August 2000, 02:42 PM
Stef
Scooby Regular

Dave.

How are you finding the EBC set-up?

Stef.
Old 25 August 2000, 10:23 PM
DaveD
Scooby Regular

Smile

Thanks for your comments, Barge.

The new EBC pads and discs feel a lot better than the standard set-up (although the old brakes were glazed and warped! ).

The initial bite is good, although they do seem to improve a bit more with some extra heat. In fact I have no complaints about the performance, but I was just a little disturbed at how noisy they were when leaned on quite hard.

I'm getting more confident now, and will start to explore their charateristics this w/e now that I've put on some more miles.

The only thing I've got to get used to now is the ABS kicking in a bit more regularly!

Dave
Old 26 August 2000, 12:11 AM
Andrew Timmins
Scooby Regular

Smile

Dave,

I found that after about 500 miles the pads no longer needed a warm up before getting the full braking effect.

The noise from the grooves is only if you brake quite hard, in normal driving they are virtually the same as the standard disks.
Old 27 August 2000, 02:06 AM
Suresh