Should I get new tyres on warranty??

Search this Thread

Old 24 March 2003, 09:39 PM
Scooby New
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Bit of advice please.....

I bought an MY00 UK Turbo last December, paid a shedload of money for it from a Subaru dealer and bought a 2 year extended warranty at the same time. At the weekend the sun was out so I decided to take the wheels off the car (for the first time), give them a proper clean and polish and smarten up the calipers with a lick of paint.

When I got the front wheels off I noticed that the inner walls of both tyres are covered in 1-2 inch splits all the way around. The outer walls are perfectly OK and the tyres don't look to have done many miles. Now I'm no expert but I've never seen this happen to tyres before and I'm VERY dubious about driving the car with the tyres in this sort of condition.

I'm going to take the car in to the local tyre dealers and see what they say about it before I ring the Subaru dealers.

Firstly, has anyone else ever seen this and is it dangerous to drive the car on these tyres?

Secondly, would I be within my rights to demand that they are replaced on warranty?

Any advice gratefully received.....

Steve
Old 24 March 2003, 09:44 PM
-=Buzz=-
Scooby Regular

I saw it yesterday on aPeugeot 206 - it was like the outer layer hadnt bonded to the inner layer, and had started to split, like a dotted line, around the tyre.

The ATS man (only place open on a Sunday) said it looked like a tyre fault. If it is youve got a good claim Id say.

You need to buy some more tyres either way, and drive it carefully until you do - no high speed passenger rides!

If you dont you might be dead - is it worth the risk? It wont get better on its own.

Hope thats of help
Old 24 March 2003, 09:46 PM
-=Buzz=-
Scooby Regular

It was the ATS just before Brighton street flyover, on the left off the dual carriageway. Know the one?

GET SOME NEW TYRES!

Did you get it from *gulp* Morons Motor Village??