Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

Tyres/Handling

Search this Thread

Old 29 November 2002, 04:53 PM
Ianwales
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow

Hi guys, I'm new to the message board would like some feedback on a couple of topics.

Back in April I traded in my '93 Celica GT4 and I bought a '99 RB5 Prodrive which I am very happy with. However, some things I have noticed in comparison to the GT4 on the downside there seems to be a lot more understeer (particularly in the wet) I am guessing this is probably due to the higher centre of gravity due to the different style of the car, any comments on this?

Secondly I have the standard 17" alloys that come on the RB5 with P zero's which seem to give pretty much excellent grip in the dry. But the grip in the wet is not the best, which despite being decidedly good fun as I powerslide round roundabouts etc leads me to believe that it is only a matter of time before I wrap it around some concrete, tree, hedge or another vehicle. In peoples experience is this down to the car or are their better tyres for the wet etc.

On the plus side its faster more powerful and lighter on manouvreability just in case you doubting my enthusiasm for scoobies.
Old 30 November 2002, 03:10 PM
Barnaby
Scooby Regular

I think the general opinion is that PZero's are great in the dry but only average in the wet. Goodyear F1's, Bridgestone SO3's and Toyo's seem to be the tyres of choice (although with much controversy!).

The standard car can understeer although a lot can be down to tyres, tyre pressures and also things like alignment and suspension setup. I'm not an expert on this but a lot of people swear by having the aligment done by a garage familiar with Impreza's.
Old 02 December 2002, 11:51 AM
Fat Blerk
Scooby Regular

Hi,