Notices

Changing suspension myself , How hard ??

Search this Thread

Old 23 July 2012, 09:06 PM
Gryphon
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing suspension myself , How hard ??

Right Guys need some advice.

I have a 2002 Bugeye sti which is completely standard . But my rear shockers have developed the dreaded knocking. The car has only covered 23,000mls.

I have decided to replace the standard suspension with the BC Racing coilovers.

My question is how hard is this to do ???

I am not a mechanic but know my way round the car & how things work also handy enough with a spanner. Have been watching videos on youtube as a guide how this is done.
Removing the standard struts seems easy enough.

My brother would help me & i would get the geomatry & alignment done afterwards.

Just trying to save some money as hard up at the moment.

Any help would be greatly appricated.

Thanks
Old 23 July 2012, 09:28 PM
addi monster
Scooby Regular

Its very easy to be fair, just make sure you pre load the coilovers before fitting,.
Old 23 July 2012, 09:28 PM
Rbon91
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

quite a easy job mate. just take all four wheels off day before and soak bolts in wd40. especially front ones can be a rite ******* to get off. you will need a long strong arm and try to have car high as possible so better leverage
Old 24 July 2012, 05:49 PM
Arnie_1
Scooby Regular

And only use 1/2" drive ratchets on the large bolts (19mm clevis bolts).

Its fairly straightforward. Best is to get all four wheels up off the ground. but only work on either the left or the right side of the car at a time. That way you have the opposite side fully assembled and installed to look at as a guide (in case you forget where stuff goes).