Tramlines but no trams!

Search this Thread

Old 04 February 2002, 10:49 PM
AliWrx
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking

Hi,
This is my first time on Scooby net and you guys seem to know your stuff so here goes.
I have recently traded my P1 in for a MY01, 5 door Wrx, don't ask me why im beginning to wonder myself! Anyway the car has 18inch P1 oz alloys, 225/40 P Zero tyres and prodrive springs. The problem is that it tramlines all over the place at low speeds to the point where it becomes quite difficult to drive. High speed handling is spot on but the tramlining is really annoying.
Any ideas anyone?
Old 06 February 2002, 11:54 AM
AliWrx
Scooby Regular

Cheers for the advice Dave a will give TSL a call.

are you running on 18's as well as i have been told that may also be the problem.

Cheers

Old 07 February 2002, 06:30 PM
Chris L
Scooby Regular

Unhappy

Ali

I run 18" Prodrive OZ's fitted with PZeros on an MY01 WRX. I also have Eibachs, recently fitted and geometry setup by Powerstation. I'm pretty confident that Powerstation set the car up correctly as the handling is vastly improved. The thing we share in common are the PZero tyres. Sally my girlfriend (aka Scoobychick on this BBS) was complaining today that the car had started to tramline on a couple of occasions.

My tyres have done 6000 miles and this seems to fit in with other peoples experiences. The PZero is not the most widely rated tyre on the board (not sure why Prodrive continue to push them to be honest) - OK in the dry, not so great in the wet. Personally I will be swapping to Toyo's as soon as these tyres have worn out.

I think a lot of your tramlining problems will be down to the tyres.

Cheers
Chris
Old 08 February 2002, 01:28 PM
bennetm
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Toyo's unbelievable in the wet!

MB
Old 08 February 2002, 01:30 PM
Mungo
Scooby Regular

Thumbs down

I think Prodrive push the Pirelli's as they're tied in through the WRC connection.
Old 08 February 2002, 03:03 PM