Notices

2003 Legacy Outback - Sigma M30 - siren sounds even when system disarmed

Search this Thread

Old 12 January 2014, 11:26 PM
Chris 1969
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Legacy Outback - Sigma M30 - siren sounds even when system disarmed

Edit to add: fixed it! See below for details.

Hello everyone, I'm a complete ScoobyNet newbie so apologies in advance if I'm getting this all wrong

I've owned a 2003 Subaru Legacy Outback (the 1998-2003 model) since August, without any real problems. However at about 9pm last (when the car was parked on my drive with no-one around) night the siren for the alarm started sounding. It would sound for say 30 seconds, go quiet for 10 seconds then sound again. I could see no reason for it to sound. The siren kept sounding like when I unlocked the car with the remote key, and even after I started the engine (which I guess means the immobiliser had un-immobilised everything properly). The only way I could find to shut up the siren (and stop waking the neighbourhood's children) was to disconnect the car's starter battery.

As far as I can see all the doors are closing properly (the display on the dash says they have too), and I've charged the battery and it's giving the normal voltage so that all looks OK. Since the immobiliser bit of the alarm system is working I'm stumped as to what's making the siren sound

All the signs are that it's got the original factory Sigma M30 alarm without any modifications; it has two one-button Subaru keys which both work, and the keypad in the glovebox works too (although I don't know the PIN and haven't yet reset it to one of my own devising). I've got the original owner's manual, I've downloaded Alan Garrod's useful list of installer codes and I've trawled the internet for clues but nothing really fits my problem.

Has anyone got any ideas as to what might be wrong?