Search this Thread

Old 04 February 2014, 02:38 PM
crispyshark
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member and question about up and down pipe on '03 WRX PPP

Afternoon people!

Noob here.

I’m about to purchase my first Scooby and it’s an unmolested ’03 WRX PPP wagon. I’m pretty excited as this is my first foray into 4wd turbo power having always owned RWD sports car before this.

Having done a bit of looking about utilising the ‘search button’ am I right in thinking that changing out the turbo ‘up’ pipe and the down pipe to get rid of 2 of the 3 cats might release some more horses? Would the PPP ECU need to be reflashed after?

Are both these jobs fairly easy ie can do them on my drive with a socket set or is it a ramp/engine out job? Excuse my ignorance, I’m a novice mechanic (albeit with experienced mechanic friends).

Are both the replacement pipes STI parts? Where is best to get them from?

Thanks
Old 04 February 2014, 02:46 PM
Gear Head
Scooby Regular

My best advise to you would be buy it, drive it as it is for a month or so and then decide what you want to do. A pit or a ramp makes changing exhaust parts so much easier than on the road.

My 05 wrx feels plenty quick enough with a sports cat downpipe, free flow centre and prodrive back box.
Old 04 February 2014, 02:52 PM
crispyshark
Scooby Regular

Thanks. Main reason for the 'up' pipe swap out was because I have heard horror stories about the cat disintegrating and shredding the turbo......would be more of a preemptive mod. Looking at the diagrams of the exhaust system I assumed that one would be the biggest sod to get to?!
Old 04 February 2014, 02:52 PM
ditchmyster
Scooby Regular

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Hi and welcome, the up pipe is usually an STI part, the down pipe can either be a sports cat or straight through after market item.

Changing either is not difficult but the up pipe is a pita.