Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just joined need help with buying a scooby..

Search this Thread

Old 21 September 2012, 11:31 AM
McKenzie
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just joined need help with buying a scooby..

Hello all
Just joined the forum and will hopefully soon have a scooby of my own rather than drooling over everyone elses. I'm 16 and have saved a bit and have found a 1997 2.0L non turbo Impreza that i quite like, it has no tax or mot and am going to see it tonight so i'm wondering what to look out for(i'm an apprentice agricultural engineer so have a bit of experience with engines but their mostly 7.0L diesels so there's quite a difference ha). There is some rust (not a lot but a bit) at the back wheel arch been told this is a common problem also it needs a new front cat as it doesn't have one part of the reason it failed the MOT. What are the signs that's its not worth it/ past its best? I'm planning on doing it up and getting it resprayed etc so willing to do quite a bit of work but there's only so much money can be spent on a car before its a waste, so please post what i'm best to look out for what are the usual problems and what you recon its worth,
Thanks
Old 21 September 2012, 11:56 AM
d4vidh
Scooby Regular

If you can see rust on the wheel arch then 9/10 it will be a lot worse than it actually is. No MOT or Tax and needs new front cat. Value prob scrap value at most. If you are thinking about it as your first car then personally I would say forget it. There are better 'first cars' out there. I know I may sound a bit old saying this but get a few years driving (once past test) under your belt and save, save save. It will save you in the long run.
Old 21 September 2012, 11:58 AM
Osimabu
Scooby Regular

I appreciate it's a project, but I'd try contacting a few insurers first to see if you'll be able to get cover on it when you're old enough to drive.