Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

what scam is this

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 03:33 AM
  #1  
craigo's Avatar
craigo
Thread Starter
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,189
Likes: 0
From: surrey/west sussex
Default what scam is this

as above.. http://pistonheads.com/sales/3749064.htm
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 07:14 AM
  #2  
BlueBugEye's Avatar
BlueBugEye
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,427
Likes: 1
From: Littlehampton
Default

What makes you think it's a scam?
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 07:29 AM
  #3  
SwissTony's Avatar
SwissTony
Scooby Regular
20 Year Member
iTrader: (19)
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 28,233
Likes: 14
From: In the Doghouse
Default

Because the price is way too cheap, that car and photos have been used before and no contact number

Looks dodgy
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 08:23 AM
  #4  
tubbytommy's Avatar
tubbytommy
BANNED
iTrader: (20)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,950
Likes: 1
From: crawley :)
Default

Yep usual pisonhead scam. the seller will be on an oil rig with no phone but will deliver the car to you after you paid.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 08:25 AM
  #5  
tubbytommy's Avatar
tubbytommy
BANNED
iTrader: (20)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,950
Likes: 1
From: crawley :)
Default

Report it and it will be removed
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 08:33 AM
  #6  
The Pink Ninja's Avatar
The Pink Ninja
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (23)
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,703
Likes: 2
From: ...
Default

You can contact Natalie2772@btinternet.com, I'm sure she will be able to assure you it's a genuine add if you contact her direct and not through piston heads, PMSL
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 08:34 AM
  #7  
RA Dunk's Avatar
RA Dunk
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,073
Likes: 0
From: My turbo blows, air lots of it!!
Default

Originally Posted by tubbytommy
Yep usual pisonhead scam. the seller will be on an oil rig with no phone but will deliver the car to you after you paid.
Oil rigs all have phones, Internet, Email, etc etc.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 09:05 AM
  #8  
tubbytommy's Avatar
tubbytommy
BANNED
iTrader: (20)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,950
Likes: 1
From: crawley :)
Default

Originally Posted by RA Dunk
Oil rigs all have phones, Internet, Email, etc etc.
im not arguing otherwise but this is what the seller will tell you.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 09:16 AM
  #9  
scoobynewbie72's Avatar
scoobynewbie72
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,605
Likes: 0
From: Here
Default

yeah she seems to sell a few cars lol, BMW, Seat and Audi A4 cab,
https://www.google.co.uk/search?sour...btinternet.com
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 09:23 AM
  #10  
tubbytommy's Avatar
tubbytommy
BANNED
iTrader: (20)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,950
Likes: 1
From: crawley :)
Default

all at amazing cheap prices but no phone number only a bt email address

the thing is some idiots are still taken in by this and lose thousands.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 12:10 PM
  #11  
Nooblygoobly's Avatar
Nooblygoobly
Scooby Newbie
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
From: Aberdeen
Default

This advert has been rejected by PistonHeads
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 12:17 PM
  #12  
tubbytommy's Avatar
tubbytommy
BANNED
iTrader: (20)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,950
Likes: 1
From: crawley :)
Default

Been reported
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 12:58 PM
  #13  
SLAB's Avatar
SLAB
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (77)
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,368
Likes: 2
From: YORKSHIRE
Default

Originally Posted by RA Dunk
Oil rigs all have phones, Internet, Email, etc etc.
DODGEY RIGGERS LOL
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 04:18 PM
  #14  
IanK Spec C's Avatar
IanK Spec C
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 674
Likes: 0
From: Stoke-on-Trent
Default Definately a scam!

As 'she's' got several cars for sale I sent an e-mail saying:

I'm very interested in your car for sale. Where in the UK is it?

The reply:

Hello,
First of all I want to thank you for your interest for my car. You're lucky ....I had to pause the listing on PH because I've almost reached an agreement with a local potential buyer. Unfortunately, it looks like there are some problems and he doesn't have all the money to pay, for the moment
The car is still available for sale,it is in extremely good condition,100% HPI Clear,full service history.Currently I am on a business trip to Australia and will have to stay here for about 6 months (this is why I am selling the car for a low price and I am looking for a fast sale to finance the Australian project )
I left the car in PistonHeads custody and they will handle the sale for me.The V5 log book is already signed on my behalf,the car will come with 2 keys,all service records and previous MOT's. PistonHeads will deliver the car directly to your home address and I will pay all delivery expenses.
I am waiting your reply if you are still interested in buying the car so I can provide you the contact details for the PH department that handles the sale,many thanks
Natalie

Trolling to continue........
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 04:29 PM
  #15  
IanK Spec C's Avatar
IanK Spec C
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 674
Likes: 0
From: Stoke-on-Trent
Default More trolling

I then wrote:

Hi Natalie,

Thanks for the promptr reply. 6 Months in Oz, terrible ;-)

Yes, please provide contact details for the guy at PH.

The reply:

Thanks for your fast reply .If you are interested in purchasing the car just e-mail to PH department that handles the sale directly at : support@pistonheads-sales.com
and they will assist you with any questions you might have regarding the transaction.

PS When contacting the PH department please specify my name ( Natalie Grader ) and the car make and model

Regards
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 04:31 PM
  #16  
IanK Spec C's Avatar
IanK Spec C
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 674
Likes: 0
From: Stoke-on-Trent
Default

Hi Natalie,


I hope you don't mind me asking, can you please send me proof of your ID, so I know that you're genuine and a picture of you which matches the ID with a Austrialian background? e.g. Your passport and a pic of you in your bikini on Bondi beach?

Last edited by IanK Spec C; Mar 19, 2012 at 04:34 PM.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 04:32 PM
  #17  
tubbytommy's Avatar
tubbytommy
BANNED
iTrader: (20)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,950
Likes: 1
From: crawley :)
Default

Originally Posted by IAN K UK300
Hi Natalie,


I hope you don't mind me asking, can you please send my proof of ID so I know that you're genuine and a picture of you which matches the ID with a Austrialian background? e.g. Your passport and a pic of you in your bikini on Bondi beach?
Lol keep baiting
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 05:04 PM
  #18  
Ryan@Indigo-GT's Avatar
Ryan@Indigo-GT
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,039
Likes: 0
From: Unit 21 Tafarnaubach Ind Est - Tredegar - NP22 3AA
Default

What I can't get my head around with these scams is that they can't even be bothered to change the details! I'm sure I've seen one with an Aussie named Natalie somewhere else a few months back
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 06:34 PM
  #19  
scooby595's Avatar
scooby595
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 247
Likes: 1
From: Norfolk
Default

Just added a little bit more.......


Originally Posted by IAN K UK300
Hi Natalie,


I hope you don't mind me asking, can you please send me proof of your ID, so I know that you're genuine and a picture of you which matches the ID with a Austrialian background? e.g. Your passport and a pic of you in your bikini on Bondi beach with a loaf of bread on your head ?
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2012 | 10:05 PM
  #20  
Scooby Parts's Avatar
Scooby Parts
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (41)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,853
Likes: 0
Default

I love these idiot scammers. Always gives me something to do when Im bored.

My favourite was....

https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-...o-do-next.html
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
fastfrank
Non Scooby Related
17
Oct 2, 2003 08:58 PM
ChristianR
Non Scooby Related
8
Feb 19, 2003 12:39 PM




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:07 PM.