Sponsored by:

need abit of help

Search this Thread

Old 05 February 2011, 09:19 PM
BAD BOY V
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need abit of help

Guys i'm new to the scooby world, and wonder if somebody could help me out, i've got a friend interested in getting a scooby classic, just wanted to know which one is best to go for, i've suggested the P1, but theres are others type ra? and other models, could anyone tell me the differences, i like the P1 due to the fact its a 2door, but don't really know what the other types are in the classic range?

regards

VJ
Old 05 February 2011, 09:28 PM
karl_1986
Scooby Regular

i have a 2000 awd turbo which is the classic shape, dont hold me to it as im a noobie to scoobys aswel but i thing the ra is a rally spec version ( no ac, electric mirrors etc), i dont think there is much difference looks wise on all the models but it depends on how much your mate has to spend n what luxurys he is wanting
Old 05 February 2011, 09:37 PM
Kedlestone
Scooby Regular

The Ra's have close ratio gear boxes and the recognizable roof vent. The Ra stands for record attempt which was for when subaru broke the lap record at the Nurburgring back in the day iirc. If you like the 2 door look have a look at some Type-R's and there's always the 22B if you have deep pockets?!?

Good hunting!
Old 05 February 2011, 09:51 PM
andy-m
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Kedlestone
The Ra's have close ratio gear boxes . . . .

Good hunting!
to expand on this comment, all jap imports have a lower ratio gearbox than the UK versions, although the RA's have a seriously lower ratio box than even the non RA jap imports.
my last scoob was a jap import WRX. 70mph was about 3400rpm @ 70mph. my latest scoob which has an STI RA box is about 3600rpm @ 70mph.
UK spec i think is about 3200rpm @ 70mph. (although i've never owned a UK spec impreza).