Remap on my WRX - advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 06 January 2011, 06:02 PM
Gary WRX
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Remap on my WRX - advice needed

Hi all

I am planning on a remap with Racedynamix (220bhp-260sih) and trying to source parts is giving me a headache as I am new to all this modding lark. I think the items listed below is all I need but can you guys advise if I need anything else?

Car is an 03 WRX Blobeye

First I am looking at the back box from Cobra Sports
SB02 Subaru Impreza Turbo WRX / STI (2001-2007) - Cat-Back System (Resonated)

• Fits - Impreza WRX/STI
  • Engine - 2.0 & 2.5 Turbo
  • Year - 2000-2007
  • Parts Inc. - Centre & Rear Sections
  • Resonated System = with centre box (Recommended option)
  • Bore size - 2.5" or 3"
  • Power Gains - (Est) up to 15BHP
£280.00

Secondly the front pipe (is this the same as an up pipe?) also from Conra Sports...

SB26 Subaru Impreza Turbo WRX / STI (2001-2007) - Front Pipe & Sports Cat

• Fits - Impreza WRX/STI
  • Year - 2001-2007
  • Parts Inc. - Front Pipe with 200 cell high flow sports catalyst (Open Neck)
  • Bore size - 3"
  • Power Gains - (Est) up to 15 BHP
(Note:- Does not include the turbo gasket)
This part, when fitted, will still enable your car to pass a UK MOT emissions test.
This is made with T304 grade stainless steel, mandrel bent and Tig welded which will allows a smooth flow to maximize power gains.
ÂÂ

£225.00

As far as I can tell I can either go for the above Front Pipe and Sports Cat or a full decat as below (am i right its one or the other here??) Would there be a significant performance benefit from the pipe below vs the one above as both state high flow? Full decat appears to be cheaper but then I guess I have to pay to have it put back on for my MOTs afterwards

SB25 Subaru Impreza Turbo WRX / STI (2001-2007) - Front Pipe / First and Second De-Cat Section

• Fits - Impreza WRX/STI
  • Year - 2001-2007
  • Parts Inc. - Front Pipe De-Cat (Open Neck)