Seems like a great place

Search this Thread

Old 04 October 2010, 08:05 AM
awdx4
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seems like a great place

Hello,

I couldn't seem to find a dedicated hello/good evening/welcome so hopefully I won't be offending anyone by saying a warm hello right here. Having already read many articles on this site in the last couple of weeks, I am appreciative of the technical and enthusiastic approach of members on this forum.

Cars have never been my own area of expertise, but I have been involved in electromechanical engineering for many years and generally grasp things quickly. I've always had functional vehicles as life circumstances have been a bit fraught over the years and I find myself fitting into that old cliché that life begins at 40, albeit in my case, life that I have a degree of control over began at 40.

My first Subaru experience was a 2.0 XT Forester which I owned for four years until I managed to convince myself that my fishing gear and the family could be equally comfortable in a WRX. I bought my 06 Hawkeye just over a month ago and personally think it has taken me until now to find the bulk of what's what with the car and form a few opinions on where I'd like to go with it, now that I've admitted to myself it has become my number one hobby. I've had the bumpers off and spent a fair bit of time under the car doing simple things like stripping the bumper supports/chassis parts and coating them with a corrosion preventer and repainting them with a far more durable coating. I did that on the strength of reading and looking at pictures on this site which helped me identify weak areas on the vehicle which might not agree with the copious amounts of salt that get dumped on our often wet roads.