Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

This can,t be real???

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Oct 2, 2010 | 09:06 PM
  #1  
shag's Avatar
shag
Thread Starter
Scooby Regular
15 Year Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 737
Likes: 0
From: www.somersetscoobys.co.uk
Default This can,t be real???

found this . anyone know if this is for real??? and no im not the one selling lol

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/2124294.htm
Reply
Old Oct 2, 2010 | 09:09 PM
  #2  
The Dogs B******s's Avatar
The Dogs B******s
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 13,707
Likes: 1
From: Over Here
Default

Dodgy
Reply
Old Oct 2, 2010 | 09:17 PM
  #3  
alp27's Avatar
alp27
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 149
Likes: 0
Default

Definatly dodgy, add 4k to it and it's still cheap
Reply
Old Oct 2, 2010 | 09:18 PM
  #4  
Paulo P's Avatar
Paulo P
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (42)
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 23,797
Likes: 3
From: Bucks
Default

It looks dodgy they say don't email through pistonheads, I would be very careful!
Reply
Old Oct 2, 2010 | 09:21 PM
  #5  
TonyBurns's Avatar
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 25,565
Likes: 2
From: 1600cc's of twin scroll fun :)
Default

Ok, so guesses on what nationallity she has married and moved to which country?

Tony
Reply
Old Oct 2, 2010 | 09:54 PM
  #6  
brownysti's Avatar
brownysti
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Default

Originally Posted by TonyBurns
Ok, so guesses on what nationallity she has married and moved to which country?

Tony
Answers on a post card please lol
Reply
Old Oct 2, 2010 | 10:12 PM
  #7  
dunx's Avatar
dunx
Scooby Senior
iTrader: (3)
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 14,333
Likes: 0
From: Slowly rebuilding the kit of bits into a car...
Default

Put that name into Google...

LOL

dunx
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 06:06 AM
  #8  
Saint AAI's Avatar
Saint AAI
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 964
Likes: 0
Default

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/2124321.htm

Definitely a scam.

Last edited by Saint AAI; Oct 3, 2010 at 06:08 AM.
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 08:33 AM
  #9  
NEILB1's Avatar
NEILB1
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,367
Likes: 0
From: WIGAN
Default

Has anyone reported this before some poor person gets ripped off ?
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 01:03 PM
  #10  
shag's Avatar
shag
Thread Starter
Scooby Regular
15 Year Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 737
Likes: 0
From: www.somersetscoobys.co.uk
Default

just did mate.
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 04:49 PM
  #11  
bigarf's Avatar
bigarf
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (67)
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,061
Likes: 0
From: w,yorkshire
Default

£4500 and they are still open to offers.
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 05:51 PM
  #12  
topman2180's Avatar
topman2180
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 525
Likes: 0
From: Berkshire
Default

same car sold on what looks like a slightly more realistic price

http://pistonheads.com/sales/2025061.htm

Last edited by topman2180; Oct 3, 2010 at 05:52 PM.
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 07:31 PM
  #13  
beef-on-the-bone's Avatar
beef-on-the-bone
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,880
Likes: 0
From: newquay
Default

that's still cheap...........
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 08:53 PM
  #14  
BIG FUD's Avatar
BIG FUD
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (84)
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 7,917
Likes: 0
From: In my own world..
Default

The seller is a scammer adverts are always in same womens name(Theresa Lopps) phone number never gets answered.Its terrible some one will get stung some pore fcker who is fresh of the boat.
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 09:02 PM
  #15  
tompka's Avatar
tompka
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 137
Likes: 0
From: Newcastle
Default

Look at the bottom of both adverts where the Adrian Flux Insurance Quote form is...The Mazda RX8 is down as a Volkswagen Polo E and the Subaru is down as a Quad Bike...Usually the first thing I look at when on PistonHeads is that insurance bit to see what they've got it registered as...Definately something strange as the original advert for the Subaru states they owned the car for the past 4 years yet this dodgy looking advert states it's their "Pride and Joy for the last 5 years"...Stay well clear!
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 09:37 PM
  #16  
Terminator X's Avatar
Terminator X
Owner of SNet
iTrader: (7)
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 11,513
Likes: 0
From: Berkshire
Default

A fool & his money deserves to be parted ...

TX.

PS

What is the scam though? Surely no one will buy it without seeing it

Last edited by Terminator X; Oct 3, 2010 at 09:39 PM.
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2010 | 10:04 PM
  #17  
fido1414's Avatar
fido1414
Scooby Newbie
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Default

probs when u get there with your cash u will get robed by some one that just so happend to b passing by.test drive it and crash it lol.
Reply
Old Oct 4, 2010 | 06:42 AM
  #18  
Saint AAI's Avatar
Saint AAI
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 964
Likes: 0
Default

Taken from another thread about this:

Originally Posted by sean95wrx
i seen a similar ad last weekend on PH for an 02 sti going for £3500, phoned the number and it didn't work so email and got this replyHi,

The car is still available for sale,it is in perfect condition in and out,100% HPI clear with a certificate to confirm,full service history.
I just got married and moved with my Italian husband in Milan,Italy.I took the car with me so the car is currently here.
I can`t use it in Italy because it has the wheel on the right side and it would also cost me too much to register it here.
It is still registered in the UK and since I have absolutely no use for it I am looking for a fast sale( this is why the low asking price)
I can ship the car from here directly to your home address and I am also willing to cover all delivery expenses.
I look forward to your reply
Regards
Jessica
This is the standard sort of reply you get with these scams. So they ask you to basically send them money through Western Union transfer (untracable btw) and they send you the car. People must fall for this as there are adverts like it all the time. If they didn't work they wouldn't do it.
Reply
Old Oct 4, 2010 | 06:42 AM
  #19  
Saint AAI's Avatar
Saint AAI
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 964
Likes: 0
Default

My first ever double post.

Last edited by Saint AAI; Oct 4, 2010 at 06:43 AM.
Reply
Old Oct 4, 2010 | 10:21 AM
  #20  
dsemuk's Avatar
dsemuk
Scooby Regular
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 356
Likes: 0
From: Lincolnshire
Default

ad withdrawn by PH
Reply
Old Oct 4, 2010 | 12:32 PM
  #21  
M444GY's Avatar
M444GY
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (72)
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 18,639
Likes: 0
From: MSOCs tyre and ROTA wheel dealer .Ruisliptyres@gmail.com
Default

vapourised
Reply
Old Oct 4, 2010 | 12:42 PM
  #22  
Terminator X's Avatar
Terminator X
Owner of SNet
iTrader: (7)
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 11,513
Likes: 0
From: Berkshire
Default

Originally Posted by Saint AAI
This is the standard sort of reply you get with these scams. So they ask you to basically send them money through Western Union transfer (untracable btw) and they send you the car. People must fall for this as there are adverts like it all the time. If they didn't work they wouldn't do it.
Why oh why do people fall for that though? It's so well known FFS

TX.
Reply
Old Oct 4, 2010 | 12:57 PM
  #23  
Paulo P's Avatar
Paulo P
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (42)
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 23,797
Likes: 3
From: Bucks
Default

Originally Posted by Terminator X
Why oh why do people fall for that though? It's so well known FFS

TX.
Greed & stupidity
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Abx
Subaru
22
Jan 9, 2016 05:42 PM
Sam Witwicky
Engine Management and ECU Remapping
17
Nov 13, 2015 10:49 AM
GB270_CALUM
General Technical
4
Oct 1, 2015 09:50 PM
shorty87
Other Marques
0
Sep 25, 2015 08:52 PM
Mister:E
Subaru Parts
2
Sep 24, 2015 01:37 PM




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:22 PM.