Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

few q's re: first time buyer...

Search this Thread

Old 21 March 2002, 09:28 AM
bretttuk
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi there, im new to the scoobynet board as im new to the scooby scene really. Right then , i am going to purchasing an Impreza in the next month or so and i am wondering what to look out for when im going over the vehicle. I know the general bits you check with every car but what should i look out for more Impreza related ?

Also going over insurance , im 21 , already had 2 quotes of 1600-1700 which i am happy about and will be taking one, thats with tesco or privilege , are there any other good insurance co's out there .

thanks for your time people .
brett
Old 21 March 2002, 09:44 AM
Goldfinger
Scooby Regular

Brett - welcome to the board! I got my Impreza MY99 with scoobysport backbox and itg panel filter nearly a year ago now and haven't looked back since, as I'm sure you won't when you get your motor ....

In terms of insurance you're right to check out Tesco and Privilege (I'm with the latter at the moment), but also try Direct Line, Chris Knott and Greenlight.

Its always advisable to take a friend/family member along with you when inspecting a vehicle and even better pay for a professional (such as from the AA) to give it a thorough once over ... could be money well spent.

Cheers
Phil
Old 21 March 2002, 10:54 AM
Josh L
Scooby Regular

Brett,

It's little difficult to make suggestions about what to check on the car without knowing what model year the car is, but as mentioned it's always worth getting the car thoroughly checked over first. They do appear to have been issues on certain cars though. An example would be that 98's seem to have suffered with a certain amount of piston slap, although mine didn't.

With regard to insurance, I wouldn't comit to an insurer without speaking to Schofield on 0113 250 0377. IMHO their service is second to none.

Josh
Old 21 March 2002, 11:49 AM
Sable