Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Am I going to crash my car driving like this?

Search this Thread

Old 11 March 2002, 08:19 PM
Mog
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What happens when the back end kicks out, crosses the white line and whacks a car coming the other way..........................
Old 11 March 2002, 08:21 PM
Jza
Scooby Regular

Im no expert - but the 4wd has a nasty habit of being a nightmare on the edge.

DONT lift off
Dont enter corner to quick and brake hard!!!

The car will break lose at the back and you'll then want to correct the oversteer - by applying opposite lock.

Thats when the fun begins...

You'll over correct/back off and wham - the rear will catch grip and send the back OVER THE OTHER SIDE 10X's worse than the first slide. That one usually gets you in trouble!!

The general advise seems to be DONT back off, and apply a little lock - not masses like on a RWD car. Oh - and you should ACCELERATE as the car slides - so the 4wd sorts itself out!!!

All that in .1 secs!!!

Good luck!!!

Theres a few websites that someone will doublessly URL for you.

Best to slow down - and get driving coaching from someone.

Jza
Jza
Old 11 March 2002, 09:36 PM
Scooby Dooby Blue
Scooby Regular

Unhappy

Jza
Now you mention driving coaching
UK300 No.174 R.I.P
Old 11 March 2002, 10:43 PM
FLAT ERIC
Scooby Regular

Location: You only live ONCE But if you do it right >>>>> ONCE is enough
Talking

Get yourself to an airfield quick sharp young man & practice your slippy slides where there is plenty of safe run off.

Know your car. Know your & its limits.Sorted.
Old 11 March 2002, 10:50 PM
miggs
Scooby Regular

www.drivingtechniques.co.uk

hth
Old 11 March 2002, 11:01 PM
FLAT ERIC
Scooby Regular

Location: You only live ONCE But if you do it right >>>>> ONCE is enough
Talking

Yo Miggs,

If bumcrack wasnt so far away up north,he could get along to a Scooby City track day at Bentwaters. Would be ideal.

Mark
Old 12 March 2002, 12:49 PM