Help needed fitting scoobysport backbox :(

Search this Thread

Old 26 December 2000, 11:38 AM
Andy Banks
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face

Guys,

Just bought scoobysport exhaust, full system.

Having problems fitting the backbox, there is less than 1cm gap from the backbox and the bottom left corner of the rear diff, so when going over bumps it hits and makes a right horrible noise.

Tried replacing the rubber bushings with harder ones, this helped but not perfect.

Could somebody with the same backbox tell me how much gap there is supposed to be?

Im wondering if it is the design, or maybe I have a bad one. Bad news is where I live is just a little too far from the UK.

Thks
Andy
Old 26 December 2000, 08:02 PM
MTR
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Andy,
I can pass one of my fingers between the corner of the diff and the pipe, (by the way I'm an engineer, but I can't be bothered to crawl under the car to measure the gap exactly).
I had problems with mine catching, specifically when reversing up my drive.
I removed the box, gripped the section of bar that makes the rear hanger in a vice and 'manipulated' it with a bigish hammer, to stretch the drivers side rod away from the box, and pushed the passenger side rod closer to the box.

This had the effect of moving the rear silencer and the forward section of pipe farther over to the left hand side of the car, increasing clearance with the diff.

WORD OF WARNING however, if you choose to adopt this procedure, YOU MUST ENSURE THAT THE BAR IS HELD VERY TIGHTLY IN THE VICE.
You have to guarantee that the hammer blows on the rod are not allowed to push the rod against the material of the box itself, or the box may rip, or distort.

Grip the rod in the vice as close to the side of the box as you can, then manipulate the rod, that is sticking out away from the vice,repeat for the other side.

Cheers MTR
Old 26 December 2000, 08:24 PM
adge
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts