ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Are 18s really needed?

Search this Thread

Old 07 November 2006, 06:50 PM
D00
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are 18s really needed?

Getting my WRX PPP'd this Saturday, they recommend 18" wheels to get the most out of it! Is this fact?

I am new to all this, and to be honest, I don't think I can afford to buy new wheels!

What do you guys think on this?

Mark.
Old 07 November 2006, 07:25 PM
evil.soup
Scooby Senior

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

Just put 18"s on mine and to be honest it will need lowering now so unless you are planning on more mods im not sure why "they" would recommend this. Never heared of this before mate?! When you say "they" are you talking of Subaru? I see your from Wales too, are you going to this months meet? There will be plenty of advise and friendly faces there to answer your questions.
Old 07 November 2006, 07:39 PM
ady4526
Scooby Regular

no need to get 18's
Old 07 November 2006, 07:52 PM
tony95
Scooby Regular

still new to subaru's ,spent all my spare cash on optimax for the first few months. better to spend a few hundred quid you "can" afford on track days learning your cars characteristics,than a grand you can't afford on wheels.
all the best tony
Old 07 November 2006, 08:16 PM
RRH
Scooby Regular

18s are a cosmetic mod.

handling is much sweeter on 17s

the money is better spent elsewhere imho
Old 07 November 2006, 08:23 PM
Surgical Spirit
Scooby Regular

The contact area will be slightly increased with 18" wheels/tyres and also the amount of lateral flex in the tyre will be reduced as it will be a lower profile. Putting these two factors together should mean greater traction through cornering plus better feel.

The downside will be a harsher ride and more expensive tyres! There's a lot more than just cosmesis to the right wheel/tyre combination
Old 07 November 2006, 08:33 PM
D00
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by evil.soup