Sponsored by:

Modifying from scratch

Search this Thread

Old 20 October 2000, 03:17 PM
manny
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gentlemen, and ladies of course.
I am fairly new to the world of the scooby, i have an MY99 impreza.
Basically i would like some advice, i am planning to start modifying the car from standard to get upwards of 250Bhp, what is the best and most reliable way of obtaining that kind of power, and who can supply the parts,
Thanx in advance
Ian.
Old 20 October 2000, 03:33 PM
JohnS

The safest and most warranty friendly way of getting that sort of power, would be to fit the Prodrive Performance Pack.

This includes a new ECU, some changes to the intercooler piping, and a new exhaust system.

This will increase power levels in excess of 240bhp, but still retain your warranty, and leave the car completely road legal (ie Cat still in place).

You probably could get close to the same levels of power by fitting a de-cat downpipe, exhaust, replacement air-filter or inductiuon kit (be careful with the MY99/MY00 cars here though as many MAF sensors have failed).

You could also speak to BR Developments, about getting a Link ECU fitted (as well as some other goodies) which should take you above that power level (why 250bhp ?).

Others worth considering are the Unichip available from Powerstation.

Search out the articles here and on
Old 20 October 2000, 04:00 PM
manny
Scooby Regular

Thanx for the advice john.
I need 250bhp plus because my mate in his Evo 6 keeps leaving me for dead, i need to give him more competition, after all the scoob should be king and not the ugly Evo
Old 20 October 2000, 08:02 PM
SCOTTY
Scooby Regular

Exclamation

Hi Manny,

I've read the first mod you should make is an oil cooler!

Scotty.
Old 20 October 2000, 08:10 PM
Dave T-S
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Wink

Manny