Keeping her clean...

Search this Thread

Old 09 October 2000, 01:29 PM
NeilT
Former Sponsor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi,

I'm new to this, so first - hi all, secondly I've had my imported MY00 (DBM) about a month now and am already noticing very fine scratches appearing in the paintwork. I've washed her 3 times, and used the Halfords wash & Wax stuff and a good quality chamois.

Should I be using something else to avoid these extremely fine scratches? Can anyone suggest some good shampoo & wax to use?

Any ideas?

Also, any meets planned for the Leics/Notts area within the next few weeks?

cheers
NeilT
Old 09 October 2000, 01:48 PM
JoeyDeacon
Scooby Regular

Neil,

I too have a DBM car and was rather alarmed to see loads of swirl marks the first time I washed it.

The best advice would be to get in contact with Mark Underwood and order one of the Wax Wizard started kits. These cost about £60 which I know sounds quite a lot if you are used to buying Autoglym from Halfords but the Wax Wizard range of products are excellent and easiest the kindest thing to use on the far too easy to mark paintwork.

Whatever you do don't use Autoglym or Mer, I used Autoglym a couple of weeks after getting my car and could have almost cried when I noticed just how many swirl marks it left behind. A couple of coats of Merlin Wax and not only will the car look amazing but the swirl marks will be covered too.
Old 09 October 2000, 01:49 PM
Geezer
Scooby Senior

Cool

I've had my MY00 DBM for two months and have noticed the same thing. As I live out in the country, I have decided that the best course of action is to drive like **ck down muddy lanes, thus covering up the offending scratches

Geezer
Old 09 October 2000, 02:16 PM
Moss
Scooby Regular

Talking

I agree!