1995 Type RA Impreza info

Search this Thread

Old 16 February 2005, 05:14 PM
o..
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 Type RA Impreza info

Hey all,

I'm a newbie here and I hear that this is the best place to get info on Impreza's and that everyone here is very up on the subject...

Right, i'm looking at getting a 1995 Impreza RA, the lightweight one. Can anyone give me any info on the spec of this car, performance figures, how many were produced, etc? I know little about it but really want one, even though the fuel bills may melt my credit card....

Is there anything to look out for on these? What problems do they have? Is the MPG really bad and will I get in insured? (male, 23, Full NCD, Leamingyon-Spa)

Any help or advice would be much appreciated, as well as directing me to a good source of info...

Thanks,
o
Old 16 February 2005, 05:23 PM
Foot_Tapper
Scooby Regular

Some info from another site
Sep.94-Aug.95 MY95 GC8C47D 260 PS WRX RA 4 door
GC8C47D 275 PS WRX RA STi 4 door
WRX RA
The type RA is along similar lines to the type R but is 4 door and goes even further and misses out a few more bits and pieces to make it ready for conversion into the ultimate rally car. No underseal, rear wing, radio-cassette, electric windows, cheaper seats and loss of sound deadening materials from the cabin. Before 1997 the engine was also a lot stronger than the other models due to being closed deck sand cast (i.e. individually cast rather than die cast) and can take much more modification. This is the engine of choice for the serious tuners and also includes an extra injector! Strangely up until recently it was only 260PS (256bhp) but this is because most standard STi items would be thrown away in any upgrade.