Which Jap Scoob ?

Search this Thread

Old 10 September 2004, 10:15 PM
lchris21
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which Jap Scoob ?

Hi All,

First posting, so apologies if its been asked before.

A mate of a mate is currently scouring the auctions in Tokyo for a suitable Impreza to bung on the boat to Southampton.

Being a complete novice (but head filling up as we speak) on the Impreza marque. Which ones should he be looking out for ?

Obviously I want the best for the cash, and have already worked out I'm looking at a 6-9year old steed. Which one is best to go for ? Whcih one should I avoid ?

Which types are generally available ?

I know very little about the Jap spec models.

I'm not after anything to exotic as this'll be my first one.

More questions sure to follow.

Cheers
Old 10 September 2004, 10:17 PM
AndyC_772
Scooby Regular

The single most important thing is to get one that you'll actually be able to register when it comes back to the UK. Take a look at www.modelreports.com and make absolutely sure there's one available, or you'll end up with a very expensive, but very useless, way to fill up space in the garage.
Old 11 September 2004, 01:52 AM
gravelexpress
Scooby Regular

it is as ANDY C says a minefield bringing in anything in which is less than 10 years old. Even with the model report the car you import will have to be exact to the car upon which the model report was produced so beware of the modified examples.
Old 11 September 2004, 08:22 AM
AndyC_772
Scooby Regular

Safest thing to do might be to contact a reputable importer in the UK and get them involved to check over a potential purchase and handle the SVA and registration side. I certainly wouldn't want to do it myself when there's a good chance the car will need modification (or the removal of modifications) to make it match the model report.