Sponsored by:

Finance....who knows their stuff?

Search this Thread

Old 08 July 2000, 03:08 PM
Ron H
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
O.k all.
The person who answers this gets a beer at the next meet that I go to.

I put some finance down on my scoob when I bought it. But the place I got it from added payment protection without me realising.
Its my fault I suppose but the figure of repayments I was quoted at the time never included the extra (not needed at all!) payment protection.
Can I get this removed to reduce my repayments on the terms of not being informed???

Ron
Old 08 July 2000, 04:22 PM
GavinP
Scooby Regular

I'm not an expert but anything like this should be clearly stated on the finance agreement.

Thanks

Gavin
Old 08 July 2000, 05:07 PM
Triggaaar
Scooby Regular

Smile

Did you sign the form when you were with them, after they had given you the wrong quote? If so, they would have been very aware that you had not completely read the form, so even if they have your signature, it would look bad on them if they took you to court.

So, you could send them a letter explaining that you are being charged more than the repayments figure you were originally quoted due to payment protection being added without your knowledge or concent, and that you have changed your direct debit instructions to the payments you originally agreed with them, and you would like the payment protection removed. They would then have to take you to court to get you to up the payments - it is unlikely they would do this, as it would look like they were bulying you.

That's probably what I'd try and do after checking the plan with a solicitor, but I don't work in this field, so this isn't expert advice, just the sort f thing I would do.
Old 08 July 2000, 07:17 PM
James Neill
Scooby Senior

Again - I'm not 100% sure on this - your best bet is to mail a post to the uk.finance usenet group.