Sponsored by:

buying a jap import

Search this Thread

Old 08 April 2004, 10:24 PM
newby
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up buying a jap import

hi i am new to the scooby club and need some advice. i have been looking at importing a wrx direct from japan are there any pitfalls to watch?
will the car need any expensive mods?
would appreciate any help , dont want to get ripped off .
Old 09 April 2004, 01:40 AM
GC8
Scooby Regular

There are endless pitfalls. You must get a certificate of De-registration with a translation. It MUST show the type approval number to register the car; you wont know if it does til you land it, or receive the docs after loading at least. You need to know the auction grade of the car; few dealers will make this available to you; many cars are clocked AFTER auction (not by the Japs btw). Lastly, if it was built after 311296 then you MUST be able to hire a model report in order to ESVA it; no model report, no SVA certificate then no registration plate til its 10 yrs old. Theres more too but its 01:30 and I cant remember. Id think long and hard; there a certain ethnic groups of dealers to avoid too but Im not prepared to be accused of being rascist. Despite the impression thats given, very few of the 'importers' with forecourts actually import cars, most wouldnt know where to start; they just buy 'flicked' 'R' grade sh!te from docks auctions. Even when you knwo what youre doing Id say its similar to repairing quality salvage; you have to expect to take a dip on every third one.

Simon
Old 09 April 2004, 11:30 AM
rfowler
Scooby Regular

Its a headache; dont go there?
Old 09 April 2004, 11:43 AM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I own a JDM STi (MY03 Spec C) from new, no problems with it, older cars can be problems so you need to buy from a reputable dealer (depends on age and cost your wanting to spend?).

Tony
Old 09 April 2004, 12:34 PM
mo,s scoobymonster
Scooby Regular