ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Removing fog lights to cool brakes????

Search this Thread

Old 30 July 2003, 03:14 PM
Edcase
Scooby Regular

Location: Throwing myself down a mountain at every opportunity...
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Right, I have just managed to warp a set of 330mm discs in less than 2000 miles.

I bedded them in religiously, and I and incredibly kind to my car. People always laugh at me because I am so thorough in cooling it down etc. I know all the tricks like leaving the handbrake off. I've also been told by several pretty respected people that I am a smooth driver, and not hard on the car / components like some people.

Which leads me to think the only way to solve the problem is to get more air to the brakes. My car is a 2002 WRX, and I have the STI mesh fog covers, so my idea is to remove the fog lamps, which I never use, and run some motorsport spec ducting to the brakes.

So a few questions:

Has anybody removed their fogs on a 2002 WRX? If so, is it an enclosed pod, or is there a hole at the back of the bumper?

If it is enclosed, would it be easy to make a hole without removing the bumper, and to leave it in a condition where I can refit the fogs if I want?

Where can I find somewhere that sells flexible, strong, heatresistant ducting. The stuff that you bend but then it stays in shape?

Where is the best place to duct the air to? The back of the disc? (ie inside the bell) or the side of the disc (ie front-on)

Any help would be appreciated.
Old 30 July 2003, 03:56 PM
Edcase
Scooby Regular

Old 30 July 2003, 04:02 PM
ozzy
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Have a look on the Scoobymania site. They sell their own kit, but you can get an idea from the pics.

It's been discussed on here before, so hopefully you can find something using search.

Which discs do you have?

Stefan
Old 30 July 2003, 04:34 PM
Edcase
Scooby Regular

Unhappy